Fear of the unknown

3

July 5, 2012 by farbolino

20120706-010954.jpg

I plan to hitchhike from Berlin to Copenhagen either tomorrow or the day after, and I’m not just doing it because a train ticket is €135 euro either. Hitchhiking brings a factor of the unknown into my travels; which I try to welcome with open arms.
I won’t lie to you and tell you I don’t feel fear; I’d be lying to you. When I really think about it though the things I fear are pretty meaningless. I don’t fear being robbed or killed, but simply being rejected if I ask a stranger for a ride, or not making it to my destination before night fall.
The most memorable days of my trip are those that I pushed myself to do something I felt I wasn’t ready for, or didn’t want. Predictability can be comforting, and yet also a slow killer. The unknown brings stress, uneasiness, yet also excitement and adventure.
At the end of a day of hitchhiking I learn something new. Sometimes I learn things like in Mozambique they speak Portuguese, or how many gears a 18 wheeler truck has, but usually I learn something about myself as well. Standing on the side of the road for 4 hours will teach you something; trust me. I can only wonder what it is I’ll learn on my journey to Copenhagen…

3 thoughts on “Fear of the unknown

  1. Mike says:

    Be carefull tomorrow it’s gonna rain a lot … And you can actually get ticket for around 40€ if you plan a little;-) but it’s more fun to catch a ride with a stranger;-)

  2. Dave Korn says:

    Yes! I am so excited for you. I think it’s so beautiful what you’re doing, and I admire you for recognizing the fear and choosing to push through. “Standing on the side of the road for 4 hours will teach you something; trust me.” I love this. So, so, so true. Waiting for rides often feels almost like a meditation, a chance for the lessons floating around my mind to seep into my soul.

    can’t wait to hear about this journey.

    Blessings and godspeed

    Dave

  3. Guillaume Ohz says:

    You’re strong, amazing strong, my friend.

    Guillaume

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 900 other followers

