Everyone is stupid sometimes.

Leave a comment

June 9, 2012 by farbolino

I feel like it’s been a while since I’ve done something truely idiotic, at least while I haven’t been drinking.  Today I had mostly been working on getting this blog set up which is a shame since I’m on the Black Sea coast.  So as the story goes, I got hungry.  Unfortunately the “hostel” (if you can call it that) is kilometers from the nearest place to get something to eat.

I run upstairs and think “Hmmm, what do I need.” The answer being my camera and ATM card, since I only had about 5 euros in currency left on me.  I grab the local marashuka (mini bus) to the center.  I bought some apricots, peaches and an ice cream to balance out the vitamins with some fat.  Then I hit up an ATM and took out nearly $200 in local currency which it happen to dispency to me in very small bills.  So now I’m walking around with 40 bills folded over in my pocket which creates a noticable bulge in my shorts pocket.

I decide to walk down the boardwalk before trying a new route back to the hostel.  When I reach the end of the boardwalk I started walking uphill, since the hostel was also located uphill.  Little did I know that I was walking into a ghetto with no direct route to my hostel.  I kept walking, simple because I hate to backtrack and feel like a fool.  The further I walk up this hill, the more sketchy things become.  No more couples walking happily, then further north not even hooligan teenagers hanging out on the street.  The only people left are middle aged men, none with shirts on, only some have shoes on, and most with what look like tattoos they were given in prison.  Perhaps it didn’t make me feel any more comfortable that the sun had just set and that each one of these groups of men I passed where either drinking vodka or beer out of plastic liter bottles.  Needless to say, they stared at me as I passed.

Now is the point where I feel it necessary to mention that I’ve been to some pretty dangerous places, but avoid putting myself in harms way.  In fact I remember wikiing that I had been to 7 of the top ten countries with the highest murder rates.  I mention this just to state that this was in fact maybe not the best place to be walking around with $200 in small bills, an iPhone, a camera, and a peach.

Just so I don’t build up to something that never happens, I didn’t get robbed.  It was a good reminder though to stick to the simple rules I had set for myself at the beginning of this trip.  They are quite simple rules and one of the rules involves NOT walking around dangerous areas with a wad of cash and a camera as the sun is setting.  Learn from my mistakes, so you don’t have to make your own.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 900 other followers

